2000 Insight Needing A New Battery (Suggestions?)

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2012, 05:11 AM
Enthusiast
Default 2000 Insight Needing A New Battery (Suggestions?)

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the Insight community and forums. I own a 04' HCH (but just bought a 2000 Insight for $2,500!)

It is a 5 speed manual with 110,000 miles but needs a new battery. It has the error code P1447 which from reading is battery deteriation. I'm looking for some advice on where to get the battery fixed or to get a new battery. From looking at a lot of posts here several people have recommended www.hybrid-battery-repair.com and getting the "BetterBattery" as from what I have read is much better than the original and should last a while longer. What are your thoughts on that?

Also as far as the BCM I assume it is all original also. How exactly would I figure out if it is and if so would you recommend upgrading it to the later version?

Again sorry if anything is obvious but like I said I just got the Insight. Thanks in advance for all the help! Looking forward to getting even more MPG now than with my current 04' HCH.

Old 01-14-2012, 08:26 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 2000 Insight Needing A New Battery (Suggestions?)

Have a look at this site www.re-involt.com H

Old 01-14-2012, 09:36 AM
Enthusiast

There are some aftermarket batteries available with more amp-hours and output than the factory battery pack.

I just had my 2002 Insight battery and some components replaced this Summer under warranty (at the 9 year mark), and runs superbly. So, the factory battery packs are still doing fine, too. It comes with a three-year additional Honda factory warranty. If it goes out after that, I'll try an aftermarket unit.

Old 01-15-2012, 06:42 AM
Enthusiast