wondering about mileage, 2000 Insight

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2005, 08:15 PM
curious
Default wondering about mileage, 2000 Insight

I'm in possession of a 2000 Insight that was a salvaged vehicle (body damage), which my boyfriend fixed and it seems to drive fine. I'm new to manual transmission, but feel I've gotten rather good at it, but still only am getting about 38 mpg city driving (san francisco --hilly terrain). Is this outrageously bad? I don't quite get it.

Old 08-06-2005, 08:24 PM
Default Re: wondering about mileage, 2000 Insight

Is there a battery pack in it? Maybe the pack isn't charged. Does the charge/assist bar indicator show it charging or assisting? Does the battery level show an indication of state of charge?

Old 08-06-2005, 08:28 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)

It is bad compared to the average but it may be fine for your local situation. Hills are hard on mileage and SF is known for being as hilly as can be. Stop and go driving is hard on the mileage as well. Tell us more about how you drive and your local conditions.

Old 08-06-2005, 11:29 PM
Enthusiast

#1... Check your tire pressure. Increase it to the max stated on the tire. For my Civic that was a psi of 45. That increased my FE tremendously.

Oh, and stop by Calzones for me in North Beach for some awesome Italian Potstickers!

Old 08-07-2005, 06:16 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Sounds like your driving terrain may be killing mileage, but it can be improved.

Do you watch the instantaneous mileage readout at the bottom of the gauge cluster on the dash? Once you are out of pure stop & go and driving steady, pick a number on the bar (50, 75, or more) and work at holding it steady. If your driving conditions allow, try to push it towards 75 mpg or better. With a 5-speed, this should get the engine into lean burn, which will help your mileage.

Take advantage of those hills, coast down whenever you can (be safe about it).