Synlube, Inc oil alternatives

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2005, 08:04 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Synlube, Inc oil alternatives

Most likely composed of highly refined snake oil...I wonder if they also have a large tract of low Florida land for sale??

Old 08-28-2005, 06:09 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by livvie
Anyway, I have a friend who is a service manager for a Honda dealership and he tells me that he hasn't had any reports of a CVT failing. Period.
Glad to hear that.

Old 01-30-2009, 11:54 AM
Enthusiast

I thought I would chime in on this question since I've been using SynLube now for over 7 years including 5 years on my present ride, a 2004 Ford Ranger w/4WD and 4.0L engine. I joined this forum BTW, because I'm eventually going to get a hybrid and I want to know more about them.

Of course, I also love to put actual experience up against the silly comments about snake oil that come like crab grass during the summer and are about as valuable.

SynLube is an oil that is much different from other oils. I frankly doubt that Blackstone is capable of a proper evaluation. They're OK for stuff you might find at Wally World but SynLube is far more sophisticated. The only person I consider qualified to test the oil is Terry Dyson. I've bought a couple of oil analysis kits from him though I haven't had time to submit the samples.

I now have almost 42K miles on the SynLube I installed in January, 2004 @ 780 miles. At the rate I'm going, I won't have to change the oil until 2019. Because the oil's components are inert, they don't form the byproducts that deteriorate oil performance.

Oil consumption has been very low during this time at somewhere between 4 and 8 ounces. Fuel consumption is over 19.4 MPG during that time for a mix of driving that's about 60% light city/suburban driving.