First oil change at 1K????

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2007, 10:45 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default First oil change at 1K????

Have any of you guys had your first oil change at 1K? I am just about to turn 1000miles, probably tomorrow. I am kinda old school thinking that it should. I called my dealer and the service guy was really trying to steer me away from it. I thought that was weird, since thats one way they make money! but I just wanted to get an idea if any of you guys have done that. I am still somewhat new to the hybrid world so I'm still learning.

Old 04-27-2007, 05:53 AM
Active Enthusiast
Red face Re: First oil change at 1K????

As a Saturn Vue Hybrid owner and 90+ mile a day commuter, if I made my first oil change at 1,000 miles it would have happened in the second week of ownership.

Keep in mind that synthetic oil is made to last longer, therefore the statement below only refers to regular oil.

I made my first oil change at 5500 miles and my second will be in the 11,000+ mile range. It takes me about 12 weeks to drive that distance.

There is great debate as to when one should change their oil. So, when I went to the new Saturn Owners meeting at my dealership, I brought up this question.

When should you change the oil?
- Saturn Customer Rep: Showed some slides that pointed the oil life to between 4000 and 6000 miles, with regular driving and 3000 and 5000 miles with server driving conditions. (Like stop and go, dust & heat)
- Saturn Mechanic: Recommended every 3,000 miles or 3 months which ever comes first. Gave the standard "Jiffy Lube" tag line.
- OnStar Diagnosis: With the monthly printout I receive it states that my oil life would last 12,000 miles.
- My Dad: Take out the dip stick and look at the oil. If it is very black and thick - it is time to change it. Thanks Dad.