Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Complaints

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2004, 07:35 PM
Active Enthusiast

Attention Ford Escape SUV Hybrid Owners:

I have some background and experience with this new entry to the Hybrid Market.

I offer an answer to all posts although a final answer may take some time.

I believe I can reach some people at Ford and get an answer to most complaints. I have a copy of the Helms 2005 Ford Escape Hybrid Workshop Manual and I promise to use it to your benefit.

On my own car I have installed some of the available after market accessories.

Mike

Old 12-18-2004, 08:12 AM
Red
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Thanks for being here Mike. I know we will benefit from your experience and knowledge.

Things I have wondered about are how the vehicle power braking and steering systems operate since there cannot be vacuum produced nor hydraulic fluid being pumped while the gas engine is not running and you are in electric only mode. I suspect that there is an electric "boosting" element that I have not yet encountered.

My concerns were that my wife would find the steering more difficult to use or that the brakes would require more effort than normal when in electric only operation. Since I have not heard any such issues reported, I presume that Ford has addressed these issues (just didn't know how).

Please share your mods and assessment of the accessories you have installed. Since I want to optomize MPG, I'm considering low resistance tires and welcome any insights members have on them. Also looking for ways to eliminate weight like removing the spare tire and jack while in "City" mode.

The Ford connections I need right now are the folks that can expedite my order into production. Got any good buddies in scheduling? Duane

Old 12-18-2004, 10:49 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Red,