Toyota Motor Corporation Lexus and Toyota Hybrids

Other than being green... why get one vs a regular car?

Old 01-31-2010, 07:22 PM
Enthusiast
Default Other than being green... why get one vs a regular car?

I want to get one but trying to convince my mom and dad is difficult. Other than the fact that they are environmentally friendly, I need more arguments.

I know it can save money with gas but thats a long term result that I probably won't see as I keeping a car for more than 6 years seems unsafe for me.

Are the cars any of you own more roomy than a regular sedan, as I am an art student and I'm always carrying a lot of stuff in my trunk?
Do they have cooler features/interior than a regular car?

Is there any arguments you guys can help me come up with other than the gas and green factor, to really sell both of my parents into investing in one?

Old 02-26-2010, 05:40 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Other than being green... why get one vs a regular car?

Right now there is still a premium for hybrids. I justify this premium as helping the industry improve the hybrid/electric technology to the point that some day it will be as cheap or even replace gas only powered vehicles.

Hybrids generally should be considered investments in the technology, not just for fuel savings, since the break even is usually several years, depending on your driving style.

Old 02-27-2010, 08:10 AM
Enthusiast

Hybrids are usually more highly-specced than the equivalent.
Perhaps not so much about being green but saving on fossil fuels which are not renewable energy sources.

Old 02-27-2010, 10:20 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

John and grix17 have the two major points covered. Every new hybrid vehilce line by the large companies increases the effeciency of the parts, reduces the size, mass, and cost of the technology. This is also driving battery technology that was not available to anyone but NASA just a few years ago.