Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

The Horror, the absolute horror …

Old 06-04-2004, 11:39 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

--

Last edited by xcel; 12-02-2007 at 05:42 PM.
Old 06-04-2004, 11:56 AM
Site Founder

I haven't the time to read this right now. But, knowing your incessantly good writing -- would you like me to make this into an article?

Old 06-04-2004, 12:29 PM
Active Enthusiast

That was fantastic, Wayne. I read it all.

If I show this to my girlfriend, she will truly think people are nuts here. But I know it's just a sound addiction, and for a good cause too... I thought I was a fuel-efficient driver, but this makes me want to try even harder! I will try slow acceleration, your point about that makes sense.

Old 06-04-2004, 12:53 PM

Wayne I know what you mean, I'm going to have a crummy tank this time around.

My wife (Bless her heart) borrowed my car to "go shopping" with 2 friends earlier this week. Later that afternoon I jumped in for my daily commute, started it up and was shocked :o to see the FCD averaged out to about 34.
Later I asked how did she do that and her reply was "to use as much battery assist as possible. That's what it's for, right?"

Please let me tell you that my wife is one of the smartest persons I've ever known and in some things runs circles around me. (You know better half)
But in this I think some good tip reviews may be helpful! (Or not)
Thanks
PS.
Just had time to digest your paragraph. Thanks, it must have taken some time to post that. Some quetions/comemnts:
The best hyper mileage Insight drivers do not use the WOT
I've found that accelerating too slowly can be as bad as WOT. Example is accelerating 10MPH over 60 seconds lingering in the 35-40MPG range is bad too. I plan to do a series of HCH experiments, one is for best economy 0-60 on a flat country road. Given this situation what do you find best for the Insight?
Std. fuel economy techniques