Emergency brake

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2005, 09:37 AM
Enthusiast
Default Emergency brake

I picked up my beautiful black Prius yesterday and am overloaded with new information on how to drive and operate all the features. One instruction keeps popping up and that is to set the emergency brake each time you stop and are finished driving. What is the purpose of that? I have never done that before on any car. I just put it in Park and leave.

Allen.

Old 08-17-2005, 10:37 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Emergency brake

Its better for the park gear, and in the odd chance it fails the car isnt going anywere

Old 08-17-2005, 02:37 PM
Active Enthusiast

You should ALWAYS set the parking (emergency) brake!
There are two reasons:
1 - the park claw does not always fully engage, if the car is on level ground or not moving. Then, if something begins to move the car rapidly, it can skip over the retention holes for the claw and just keep on moving. Then, if the car does damage, you will be responsible if the parking brake was not set. This may sound silly, but has happened not that infrequently.
2 - on many cars that have drum brakes (including sadly the North American version of the Prius, in the rear) these brakes are self-adjusting through the parking brake action. Every time you set the parking brake, the pads are adjusted. If you fail to do that, the brakes pads will wear (they alwasy do) and brake pedal travel will increase.

Old 08-17-2005, 03:54 PM
Enthusiast