How does a used Prius I hold up?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2007, 08:58 AM
Enthusiast
Default How does a used Prius I hold up?

Hey everyone. Although I understand the concept I'm new to hybrids, so don't mind any ignorance on the subject.
I was wondering how well a used Prius 1 will hold up. Yes every vehicle is different depending on the driver and where it's located, but generally are there any defects or flaws that I should worry about? How's the mileage compared to the Prius 2? I can't afford a new Prius just yet, so hopefully I can get my hands on a Prius 1.

Old 02-05-2007, 09:19 AM
Engineering first
Wink Re: How does a used Prius I hold up?

Welcome!
Originally Posted by Panny
Hey everyone. Although I understand the concept I'm new to hybrids, so don't mind any ignorance on the subject.
There are many fine hybrids including the Prius. As a gentle suggestion, you might post this in the "General" or "Introduction" area. Folks here are pretty respectful of each others choices (aka., the right tool for the right job.)

Originally Posted by Panny
I was wondering how well a used Prius 1 will hold up. Yes every vehicle is different depending on the driver and where it's located, but generally are there any defects or flaws that I should worry about? How's the mileage compared to the Prius 2? I can't afford a new Prius just yet, so hopefully I can get my hands on a Prius 1.
My first and current Prius is the 'Prius 1' or more accurately, NHW11 model. If you click on my signature block, you can see the history.

Now I'm into doing my own maintenance and I bought mine so I could do my own work without worry about warranty. So I'll offer these suggestions:
  • the last model year is best - the 2003 will have the modifications that were needed for the 2001-2002 models. This is a general rule of thumb for any car and the Prius is the same.