Insight in the snow?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 08:25 PM
Proudest Monkey
Default How Doess the Insight Fair in Winter?

Mostly I'm curious about how it does in the snow. I know its no 4x4, but how will it handle in an urban/suburban environment with a bit of snow on the pavement? I would expect not so well due to its light weight and the LLR tires, but perhaps you all have different experiences...

Cheers!

Old 09-06-2005, 09:02 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: How Doess the Insight Fair in Winter?

Hi Atomic Frog:

___Not so good imho but I was a mostly highway driver and even during a snowstorm, the plows were out and I would try and stay in the freshly plowed lanes if at all possible. I could get home and back but she wouldn’t make it up my relatively steep drive with > 1” on the ground if that is where you were headed? Your FE will be atrocious no matter what you try but it is still better them most under those exact conditions …

___Good Luck

___Wayne R. Gerdes
___Waynegerdes@earthlink.net

Old 09-07-2005, 08:17 AM
Enthusiast
Default Insight in the snow?

Our BMW is on it's last leg. My mother is actually thinking of getting a hybrid! But it must be good in the snow. How does the Insight do in the snow?

Thanks.

Old 09-07-2005, 08:49 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Insight in the snow?

Darn! This is a deal closer for my mother. Jersey has pretty rough winters. Thanks for the info. David.

Old 09-07-2005, 09:05 AM
Contributor ($)

Handles like a small car in the snow. I live in wisconsin and drove unplowed roads in the winter with LRR tires. Always got to work and never got stuck. But again, it's not like driving a 4x4 Subaru.

Old 09-07-2005, 09:23 AM
Banned

My worst-ever Insight commute was on December 15, 2000. Went 25 miles home in five hours at 2-3 mph on iced-up roads - 25mpg. Considering I went the first 4-5 miles before traffic turned into a parking lot, it potentially was as bad as 20mpg from that point on.