06 Civic mileage vrs 03 mileage

Old 02-23-2006, 03:47 AM
Enthusiast
Talking 06 Civic mileage vrs 03 mileage

The 2006 Civic is a really great car with many improvements over the previous generation. The only concern I have is the mileage. With the '06, I am getting a consistent 40mpg with mixed driving. I have about 7500 miles on it and I have never experienced it running in electric motor only mode as advertised. I am an experienced Hybrid driver and know how to coax every last mile from my hybrid but 40 mpg seems tops city or highway.
My '03 Civic was a manual but the hype on the '06 said it was better than the previous model even with the CVT. The CVT is nice as it can slow the engine RPM to about 2,000 rpm at 70mph which make a nice ride.

Anyway my 03 mileage went down when it was really cold but I averaged about 48mpg and sometimes getting as high as 54mpg. Usually mileage would go up when driving in town. - I calcualed mileage when filling the tank. My record best was 832mi on one tank of gas (do the math- the tank will hold over 3 gal more than the 13.2gal spec. when filled to the top) That was hard to beat - I passed lots of gas stations with the 03 Civic.

The bottom line is even during warm weather, highway driving etc, the new Civic mileage seems to be lacking... Are your experiences the same?

Old 02-23-2006, 05:06 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 06 Civic mileage vrs 03 mileage

Hi,

In order to get to the electric only mode, when crusing, a minor depress on the accelerator will get you instantenous milage consumption to max out at 100mpg. When it's done you are electric only. Slowly press the accelerator and you will see the assist bar going up without having you milage gage to go down. You'll get use to it once you'll get it. You'll ear the motor when it restart.

Last edited by Soleil24; 02-23-2006 at 07:33 PM.
Old 02-23-2006, 07:13 AM
Active Enthusiast