Average distane in EV Mode on a 2006 FEH?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2016, 08:29 AM
Enthusiast
Default Average distane in EV Mode on a 2006 FEH?

Hello all. I just bought a 2006 FEH with 125K. It seems in good shape. I am new to hybrids and was looking for some data on how far the vehicle will generally make it in EV Only mode. I understand there are a lot of variables here, cold weather, did you start EV only from a full stop or did you get into it from acceleration on the ICE and "coast" into EV mode.

Absent access to CAN codes and battery diagnostics, I'm just trying to get a general feel of the distance an average battery discharge will get you in terms of work performed.

For purposes of normalizing this data, I'd appreciate any data on how far 2006 generation FEHs generally travel from a "full" charge as indicated on the battery meter in the NAV unit (if available) or ScanTool - first from a stop, and second from coasting into EV Only mode and constantly applying power to maintain roughly 30mph. Please assume the terrain is flat and the temperature is 60F. Just asking for back of the napkin guesses here, but any hard data would be welcomed. Also, please let me know if you are employing Jedi hyper-mileing technique. Although I appreciate them, I am most interested in just how the vehicles should perform under normal application of the EV Motor at startup and after attaining cruising speed.

Thanks again for helping a newbie out.

My average experience so far in the freezing cold new to driving a hybrid:
From Stop on EV Mode: .3 miles
Cruising in EV Mode (30mph on flat terrain): .6 miles

Thanks

Last edited by BostonHybrid; 01-21-2016 at 08:32 AM.
Old 01-27-2016, 11:31 PM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert
Default Re: Average distane in EV Mode on a 2006 FEH?

1 mile maintaining 25-30 mph.
0.5 mile starting from a dead stop and getting up to 25-30 mph and keeping it there. This is average. Many people struggle to get "average" results.