On-screen MPG vs. calculated

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2005, 04:47 AM
Enthusiast
Default On-screen MPG vs. calculated

Hi folks, I've been driving my '06 FEH for a few months now, and something I'm noticing is that the on-screen MPG indicator is nearly always higher than the actual.

My latest tank *looked* great - 34.6 MPG on the display, but I was rather disappointed to see a calculated 31.9 MPG when I did the math based on mileage and actual gallons. This difference has always been there, but for the latest tank (and my current one also) it appears to be even larger.

I'm starting to think I should enter my mileage data based on on-screen MPG instead of the actual mileage/gallons - I'd be further up the list.

Does anyone have any hypotheses on why there's a difference between the on-screen and calculated MPG?

Old 10-16-2005, 05:22 AM
Happy Owner
Default Re: On-screen MPG vs. calculated

We have an '05 and see the same differences with the on-board computer vs hand calculation for mpg. Although there are times the computer is higher, most of the time it's been lower. Generally it's less than a 1/2mpg, but there are times it's as much as 2 mpg (either way).

Old 10-16-2005, 09:06 AM
Enthusiast

That issue came up previously, at least for those that have the nav system - and I think it has to do with the fact that the computer only averages out 2000 data points when calculating the average MPG - and this may be well under one gas tank. For those that have the in-dash economy display, I'm not sure if this is the same situation, but could explain why the reading is off. So instead of averaging the whole tank it only averages the last 2000 readings. Someone asked this question at the Dearborn meeting - but what wasn't clear how often those data points are collected. I think it may be every time the instant economy reading is updated.. maybe once every couple of seconds or so.