Is it possible to disable the IMA?

Old 09-28-2010, 08:03 PM
Enthusiast
Default Is it possible to disable the IMA?

Hello All,

I've been driving my HAH for 3 years and 70K+ miles and have loved every mile of it so far. I've been very lucky in that I have not had any major problems (Knock on wood) so far. It's time for a new timing belt, water pump, spark plugs, etc. as I have passed the 105K mile service limit. I would love to drive the car for another 200K. But I don't want to spend $1,000+ to maintain the engine, only to have to spend another few thousand dollars to replace the IMA battery if it were to fail 6 months later. So my question is, when is does fail is there a way to disable the IMA and drive the car as a regular V6 (poor fuel economy in all unfortunately)?

I did own an actual Honda service manual for the 2005-2006 Accord Hybrids. I looked through it looking for just this answer, but did not find anything that specifically said do this to disable the IMA.

I wonder if it is as simple as pulling the IMA fuses and/or removing the rear seat to flip the On/Off switch on the battery module.

I've considered doing the above as an experiment, but I'm reluctant to do so for the fear of what might go wrong by pulling a fuse.

Has anyone had to do this? Can it be done?

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-01-2010, 10:35 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Is it possible to disable the IMA?

There is no way to disable IMA without getting DTCs set. And yes, you can drive the car with malfunctioning (to some extend) IMA system.
But if you live in one of CARB states then your IMA components covered for 10 years or 150000 miles (including IMA battery).

Last edited by drozzin; 10-01-2010 at 12:42 PM.
Old 10-01-2010, 11:25 AM
Active Enthusiast

IMO the IMA on the HAH is so integrated that it might have some interesting and difficult to overcome problems trying to get it out of the system.