Is this car too high-tech for my wife?

Old 03-31-2012, 02:25 PM
Enthusiast
Default Is this car too high-tech for my wife?

I have been circling around the TCH for a couple of years now. Last year, I rented an '11 model over a weekend to see how I liked it. It was OK. This weekend, I'm renting a '12 TCH LE. I like it a lot. But this car would really be for my wife, who is presently driving a 2000 Volvo S70 with a "light" turbo. We've had the car since '01 and the odometer's now up to about 130,000 miles -- all but about 12,500 of 'em ours. My wife's been driving it for the past five years, ever since I got an '07 V6 RAV4. The Volvo's still running well but this seems like a good time to move into a new vehicle, especially a hybrid. I would like to get my wife (and me) a TCH in XLE trim.

Cost is not a problem for us. The problem is that my wife is a technophobe who has trouble operating our home-entertainment system remote. For starters with the TCH, she hates the fact that you start it by pushing a button instead of turning an ignition key. She didn't want to drive the one we rented last year. I was able to persuade her to drive this one last night on a short trip and she conceded that it drives like any other car. But she didn't want to take it out today. She's kind of intimidated by the unfamiliar technology.