The First Plug-in Camry Hybrid Conversion

Old 05-31-2010, 09:47 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default The First Plug-in Camry Hybrid Conversion

I have completed installation of what I believe is the first Plug-in conversion of a Camry Hybrid. Thanks to leads posted on this forum and some encouragement from members here, I'm using the Enginer system from Automation Tech. (Note: the spelling of their TM name is "Enginer," not "engineer.")

I first installed a 2 kilowatt-hour system. Following some evaluation of the 2 KWH unit, I upgraded to a 4 KWH system.

I just completed the upgrade last Friday. I will be continuing to evaluate, and I will continue to post any significant news, but here are my brief observations, so far.

1. The design, construction and system engineering seem to be very well done. (I am a mechanical engineer with substantial experience in equipment design as well as test and evaluation.)

2. The system is very non-invasive to the Camry.

3. The system enclosure is a box 20 in by 36 in by 6 in high. It mounts on the floor of the trunk. (The 2KWH system and the 4 KWH system use the same enclosure box.) Living with the box for over a month, I really have not missed the loss of 6 inches of the trunk space height, and I doubt that I ever will, With the unit installed in the trunk, the pass-through behind the right rear seat is not at all obstructed, and there is still 14 inches of trunk space height. (Heck, my other very much larger car has only 17 inches of height in the trunk space.)

4. The unit charges from 110 v AC and takes about 750 watts, max. Recharging from effectively drained seems to take about 4 hours typically; so although it's a nominal 4 KWH unit, recharging typically consumes only about 3 KWH. The system has adequate controls to shut off charging automatically so that charging can be done unattended.