Question on engine + motor + battery

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2006, 10:49 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Question on engine + motor + battery

I'm not sure exactly how to phrase this since I'm new to the TCH (got mine Sept 26) and I'm still learning the lingo (still dont know what ICE means).

Today I was driving in heavy traffic. The battery/electric motor was being used 90% of the time. The only times the engine kicked on was when I was going uphill, or accelerated a little heavier.

Anyways, my battery was going down to a low level - 2 bars left. I was checking my energy screen and noticed something I found a little interesting and wanted to get your input on:

The engine kicked in so it showed arrows going from the engine to the wheels. But there was also an arrow from the engine going to the electric motor. What I found interesting was there was arrows going from the electric motor to both the wheels and the battery. I know when the engine is stopped and you're coasting, the momentum of the vehicle turns the electric motor (changing it into a generator) and charges the battery. But how can the electric motor turn the wheels and charge the battery at the same time? It seems that in my case above, the engine is turning an alternator which then provides power to the electric motor and also charges the battery at the same time. Any thoughts?

Oh and one more question.. occasionally I notice that when coasting, the analog mpg meter drops to 60mpg (not in the E mode), however the energy screen shows that the engine is off and the batter is being recharged -- Huh?

Old 09-30-2006, 11:55 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Question on engine + motor + battery

ICE = Internal combustion engine. In other words, the gasoline motor. Took me a few days to figure it out also.

Old 10-01-2006, 08:39 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast