HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

2005 Honda Civic with a dead Battery Pack

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2014, 09:35 AM
Enthusiast
Default 2005 Honda Civic with a dead Battery Pack

Hey so I'm a new member with a major automotive problem.

Basically I own a 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid with about 74K miles on it. I bought it used last year and now the battery pack needs replacement. I'm a college student so finances are a little tight and the shop I took it to said a new battery would cost about 2350. I'm pretty much a moron at automotive affairs and need some advice about what to do. Any suggestions or advice is greatly appreciated.

Old 06-20-2014, 09:55 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: 2005 Honda Civic with a dead Battery Pack

Speak to Matt at hybrid revolt he can help you.

Old 06-20-2014, 11:34 AM
Enthusiast

Honda said it was off warranty and that any financial consideration they might be willing to do would entail me getting it to an actual Honda dealership and paying for another diagnostic. It's not running so I'd have to pay to get it towed. Is it worth it to do so?

Old 06-20-2014, 06:26 PM
Active Enthusiast

Your battery may not be defective, but it would take some work to reset it. The issue is that NiMH batteries need a couple full 'cycles' occasionally to reset the battery.

This entails using light bulbs to drain it fully (down to about 50 volts), and then charge it to 100% (and hold it there for a few hours), then repeat.

I do this every 8-10 months, and the battery starts working like brand new again and the car rides great.

Unfortunately you would need a grid charger or power supply capable of the voltages, and electrical training and safety measures. Many of us have bit the bullet and learned how to do it, but its not for everyone.

Also, there is no guarantee this will work if you have a really bad cell in your pack. However, I have two batteries and both of them are able to be reset and they work great.

Old 06-20-2014, 06:29 PM