HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Does 12v battery affect IMA battery?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2012, 03:54 PM
Enthusiast
Default Does 12v battery affect IMA battery?

Hi all,
I am a novice to the forum, but have been learning a lot about my 2007 HCH (bought new in July 07) the last couple of days. Amazing there is so much info out here for people needing help!

Okay, this is my first post and my first doubt... Sorry if you find it too long. How does the poor quality of 12v battery affect the performance of hybrid battery, specifically does it trigger IMA recals?

Background... during my recent oil change my regular dealer did a 43 point inspection that came up with one problem, my 12v battery was going bad. But I had no problem starting my car, even in the cold Baltimore mornings these days (near freezing temp), so I was not aware of the issue. I told the dealer I would keep an eye on it. When I checked online for HCH battery related stuff, I came across people having "IMA recals". I realized that my car has been doing similar stuff for the last several months. So today I decided to track these recals, and already I know my battery is most likely in a bad shape.

I had two recals in the morning and two in the evening, both 30 min drives (2 x 15 min with a 5 min break in between). The car sat in the parking lot for 8 hours between the morning and evening drives. My definition of recal is similar to what has been posted here... Battery level dropping to two bars within a minute or two of starting the car, remaining there for 3-4 min during which I get no assist or auto stop, then battery level shooting up to full.

Will the problem go away if I change my 12v battery? How do you suggest I proceed?

Thanks for your help. From what I have seen here so far, I am sure to spend a lot more time on these forums!

Old 12-01-2012, 03:00 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Does 12v battery affect IMA battery?

Originally Posted by RSMD
Hi all,