HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

When starts the EV assist every day ?

Old 03-27-2010, 03:47 AM
Enthusiast
Default When starts the EV assist every day ?

Hello friends. I own a HCH 09 and i am a really happy driver , as i am very pleased with my car. But i have a question and i would like your help for it.
Every morning as you know the EV assist wont work for the first minutes , less in summer , more in winter. What i dont know is what determines when the assist is turned on as this greatly affects the mileage of my car , ecpecially the days when my only driving is from home to work. I have tried various driving styles ( speaking of days with the same external temperature ) and i have noticed that , sometimes without an obvious reason the EV turns on after about 6 Km or 15 minutes of driving at an external temperature of 8-12 deg C , some other (few )days it happens after only 2-3 Kms. Anyone knows what we can do to minimise this distance ?

Old 03-27-2010, 06:30 AM
2nd Hybrid Owner
Default Re: When starts the EV assist every day ?

The engine temp has to be at 140 F for that to happen. the colder the engine, the longer it takes. When it was -8 F below here (than goodness only one day) the engine never got warm enough for auto-stop even after 25 minutes.

In Canada, most HCH have engine block heaters that keep the engine at about 120 F so it only takes a minute to heat up even in the dead of winter.

You can add one to you HCH and if you keep it plugged in - the time will be in the minute range.

Old 03-27-2010, 08:31 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Block heaters really help, good for your engine's longevity as well. Another thing you can do is partially block the grill. MSantos has some guidelines here:

http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17560

I find starting by blocking the upper grill most beneficial. I think it tends to hold the heat in the engine bay most effectively.

Old 03-27-2010, 09:10 AM
Enthusiast