Chevy Tahoe Hybrid Forum

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2008, 06:39 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Chevy Tahoe Hybrid Forum

Hi Green in Rockwall. I'm actually in North Garland, and head out 66 to Rowlett at least once a week for my daughter's piano lessons. You'll often see it parked at the Forest/Jupiter Dart station. Mine's white. I drive to work a couple days a week down Skillman towards Cityplace.

A few questions for those of you who own one...
1. Do you know anything about the emergency tire inflation system? I ran over an allen wrench in the Walmart parking lot today which resulted in a flat. Fortunately I was right across the street from Discount tire, who repaired it for me. I'm concerned about being without a spare.
I'm surprised your dealer didn't show it to you. I've never used it, but checked it out before. It is on the driver's side of the cargo area under the cup-holders. It is a decent sized air compressor with an integrated can of sealant (think fix-a-flat). There are 2 hoses - one for sealant and one for just air. Just hook it up like you would a portable air compressor. I would suggest using just air first to see if it holds before putting the sealant in. Especially if you are close to a place to get fixed. You can also call Chevy's road-side assistance, but like AAA, you might have to wait a while.

2. How does the system decide whether it will be 4 or 8 cylinder?
It is based on engine load. I find that it drops into 4cyl pretty easily if you let up off the gas a bit once you get to speed. Prius drivers should be familiar with the feel; there is no real equivalent to gliding, but my leg is already trained. You can even let off the gas, then re-engage gently to get the same effect - think an egg between your foot and the pedal. I've pulled long gradual includes staying in 4cyl without losing speed. Just play around and keep one eye on the instantaneous MPG and engine mode display (while driving carefully!) Good luck and have fun.