Is this a real hybrid?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 06:12 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Is this a real hybrid?

I see this was started back in August, but is the Honda civic a real hybrid , or what about the Insight ? can either of them run on just electric ? NO , I work as a bus mechanic , and the other day I was ,had a class on a diesel hybrid school bus , you have to plug it in at night , and the diesel engine never shuts off. not even at stops. It does recharge the hybrid battery while braking , the electric motor just assists the diesel from a full stop . Hybrids are a combination of internal combustion and electric motors. While Toyota and Ford s are able to run on electric up to 10 to 15 does that make them any more of a hybrid ? more expense , yes better mpgs yes , but still a combination of electric and gas ... a hybrid. Kipper

Old 12-20-2008, 11:07 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by kipper
I see this was started back in August, but is the Honda civic a real hybrid , or what about the Insight ?
The engine crank shaft and the motor on the Honda IMA system are connected together.
The crank shaft has to spin when the vehicle moves even in a fuel-cut mode.
http://world.honda.com/automobile-technology/IMA/ima03/
Honda claims "The motor alone powers the vehicle" on "Low-speed cruising".
But, the motor has to drive the vehicle and the crank shaft.
I think it's very wasteful solution.

Ken@Japan

Old 12-21-2008, 01:14 PM
Veracitorian Muser

Originally Posted by ken1784
The engine crank shaft and the motor on the Honda IMA system are connected together.
The crank shaft has to spin when the vehicle moves even in a fuel-cut mode.
http://world.honda.com/automobile-technology/IMA/ima03/
Honda claims "The motor alone powers the vehicle" on "Low-speed cruising".
But, the motor has to drive the vehicle and the crank shaft.
I think it's very wasteful solution.

Ken@Japan