New FEH/MMH Availability Thread

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2007, 05:35 PM
Enthusiast
Wink Re: Roll call for those of us waiting

This is stressing me. I'm new in these parts - in more ways than one. This is my first posting, my first hybrid, and the first time I've ordered a car from a factory.

I live in the Pac NW, and there are almost no FEH's available on dealer lots. I went with a large volume dealership (they have lots in three different suburban cities). The FEH's here literally sell within 12 hours of arriving on the lot. I found one to test drive, but it was the wrong color and didn't have all the features I wanted. I went back the next day to order mine and the one I test drove was gone too. I ordered on August 8, 2007.

When I ordered the salesman said, "It will take 6 - 8 weeks, but most likely 6." Now, from what I'm reading on this thread I should be prepared for something more like 12 - 16 weeks. YIKES! I can wait, but it's disappointing because I'm very excited about driving my first hybrid. I'm excited because for the first time my car with be EXACTLY as I want, from color to features. The dealers can't keep the Prius or Camry hybrids on the lots either. Why aren't the manufacturers boosting production?

I just watched "Who Killed the Electric Car?" last night. Ford and GM complained they had no market to buy the electric car. That's hard to believe. Knowing that the current hybrids are very popular and can rarely found on a lot and it take more than 4 months to receive a factory ordered one, it seems but factories aren't boosting production to meet demand. There is some sort of disconnect between consumer and manufuacturer. Oh well. I'll just wait. I'm a gown up. I can handle it - sort of!

Old 08-29-2007, 05:42 PM
Enthusiastic new owner
Default Re: Roll call for those of us waiting

SeaTeacher--