Blue Smoke Cloud out the back of my FFH!

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 02:21 PM
Default Re: Blue Smoke Cloud out the back of my FFH!

I put my ffh in the shop this morning, i was told it was a quart low, doesn't that indicate it is burning oil?

Old 09-20-2010, 08:50 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by kirkster57
Here is what the shop told me. The error code they got when the check engine light came on indicated a misfire problem realted to the ignition coil. They have ordered that part, will replace it and retest to see if that fixes the problem. I'm not quite sure how that relates to the blue smoke upon hard acceleration, but then again I'm not a mechanic. Stay tuned
Kirster,

I retested the exact conditions that led to the blue smoke event as originally described. Full pedal to the metal after a prolonged EV period: zero smoke, great acceleration. Ambient air temp, accel rate, etc, seems pretty much identical to the event that resulted in the blue smoke. At this point, I have to conclude it was related to overfilled oil. It certainly could be something else, but it doesn't look that way. I will, from here on out, demand the oil level be verified, after oil change, to settle at 1/2 way between 1qt low, and full, just to be certain.

Keep us posted though. As long as they aren't going to disassemble your engine it can't hurt to replace coils or things such as this.

Old 09-21-2010, 08:26 PM

i took my hybrid in yesterday, the dealer told me it was 1 qt low on oil, couldn't explain why it was blowing blue smoke, i give up on this ford dealer never get any satisifaction.

Old 09-21-2010, 09:49 PM

Originally Posted by twallace33@cfl.rr.com
i took my hybrid in yesterday, the dealer told me it was 1 qt low on oil, couldn't explain why it was blowing blue smoke, i give up on this ford dealer never get any satisifaction.
I'll help you get satisfaction Troy! Did you have an oil change since new and did this dealer do it?

GaryG

Old 09-22-2010, 08:32 AM