Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   HCH I-Specific Discussions (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-i-specific-discussions-50/)
-   -   Stupid Question...PRNDSL (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-i-specific-discussions-50/stupid-question-prndsl-12689/)

jimbren 03-16-2007 03:00 PM

Stupid Question...PRNDSL

I just bought an 03 Civic Hybrid that didn't come with the owner's manual. I have one on order, but I'm hoping that someone can answer what I think is probably a very stupid question.

It's an automatic and I'm not sure what the "S" in PRNDSL is.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks,

jimbo

gadgetguy 03-16-2007 05:32 PM

Re: Stupid Question...PRNDSL

second

AshenGrey 03-17-2007 06:50 AM

I always thought "S" was for "Sport" since it has a little more low-end "oomph" and it disables the idle-stop (eliminating the launch delay from a stopped position). The CVT doesn't really have gears in the traditional sense. I'm not an engineer, so I could be totally wrong.

lakedude 03-17-2007 10:52 PM

I also always thought it was for "Sport Mode" for the reasons Ashen indicated.

EDIT:

Whoops!!

I stand corrected. I looked it up in the owners manual and it says:

Second (S)-Selecting Second shifts the transmission into a lower range of ratios for better acceleration and increased engine braking. Use Second when you are going down a steep hill or in stop and go driving.

Low (L)-To shift to Low press the release button on the front of the shift lever. Use Low to get more power when climbing and for maximum engine braking...

jimbren 03-20-2007 08:21 AM

Thanks very much for all the responses!

jimbo

livvie 03-21-2007 07:45 AM

It's not sport. It is second. As in second set of gear ratios (lower gears, which gives it a sporty feel).

zimbop 03-21-2007 10:16 PM

The "S" is for "Sucks more gas" as some have discovered by getting terrible mileage on a trip, only to discover at the end they'd been in "S" the whole time by accident.