First Oil Change

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2005, 11:34 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: First Oil Change

Originally Posted by lars-ss
Your brother is absolutely right Mike - early oil changes *DO NOT HARM* engines, and in fact is good for them - gets all the initial metal shavings out of the oil. Most times, these tiny particles are grabbed by the filter, but not all of them are.

And no car company can void any warranty for "changing oil too soon" though. You can change it every single day or every weekend if you want to.
The manual specifically states that you should not change the oil before the first service interval. Two things:

1) There must be a reason for this, I very much doubt that they would advise this otherwise. I am an engineer, when I make the technical writing people put something in the manual I always have SOME reason to have it added...

2) I am pretty sure that if damage were to be done by removing the break in oil too soon that they could void your warranty due to not following the user's manual instructions (user error).

Later,
~Droid

Old 09-27-2005, 01:03 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Droid,

I respect your opinion. But remember the source of this instruction: The car companies, who for decades have insisted we replace our oil at 3,000 mile intervals. Do you realize how much oil has been wasted that way? My guess is billions and billions of gallons (sorry Carl Sagan.)

They do recommend that for a reason, but whatever the reason is, I don't know, and I'm intelligent and educated enough to know that they don't put something special in the factory oil to help break-in. They just don't.

Maybe they just don't want anyone messing with their "recommended oil change intervals" or maybe they advise that to help conserve oil.

But whatever the reason is, it cannot possibly fly in the face of the hundreds of thousands of mechanics who over the years have known that changing "break-in oil" to remove metal shavings is a good idea.