Rented the HCH for a day. Result? Not good

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2005, 08:00 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Rented the HCH for a day. Result? Not good

Hi CGameProgrammer:
Originally Posted by CGameProgrammer
Ah, but I do not drive in downtown LA or San Francisco or on the far right lane. In fact, when I have been in LA, I avoided the highways at all costs since traffic was usually at a standstill.
___So where are you driving 80 + mph, side streets?

I am a safe driver. When you drive significantly slower than surrounding traffic, that is dangerous, not safe. When I drove on I-5 from Sacramento to LA, I maintained 90mph and was constantly passed by people going 100mph, though I also passed a bunch of people going 80mph, such as 18-wheelers. Yup, 18-wheelers going 80mph were the norm. Road speeds vary wildly depending on where you are. Where I grew up in New Jersey, I'd go 70-75 on the highway, since that's what everyone else was doing. I always go with the flow.
___I wonder why my experience across much of central and southern CA. varies so much with yours. I also loved the part about the 18-wheelers traveling over 80 +. I don’t care about the one or two but all? You are dreaming. Have you read any on what UPS is limiting their drivers to as of late? When you do, either UPS does not deliver in CA. or maybe you are stretching the truth a bit? I tend to think the latter. As for safety, 80 + in an accident is as close to instant death as one can imagine. Maybe most accidents don’t happen on the highway in CA.? My time there going 60 – 65 in the far right lane with the OTR drivers, minivans loaded with families, economy cars, and economy minded drivers was a rather pleasant experience actually.

Who said anything about hypermiling?