Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   Introductions (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/introductions-23/)
-   -   First car - '05 HCH (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/introductions-23/first-car-05-hch-1370/)

benb 01-27-2005 07:10 AM

First car - '05 HCH

Hi, I'm 24 from Western Pennsylvania. I graduated college a little under a year ago, finally scored a job and my car died. I debated for awhile of what to do. I've always told myself that if I bought a car it would have to be a hybrid. So I'm in debt (my car payments are chump change compared to student loans) and I don't feel guilty about it. I live in a really rural area, but I travel more than 300 miles a week (that is if i'm conservative) for my job. In this sort of area, you have to drive everywhere. The only shopping centers (essentially just long hallways) are 20 miles in either direction as are the movie theaters (not that I can afford to go out anymore). But it just illustrates the sort of driving environment that I believe needs a hybrid. Anyway, that was a long and useless intro. This site was helpful in my decision to buy a car and I hope it will be helpful in me maintaining the car.

lars-ss 01-27-2005 07:23 AM

Congrats on the new HCH, hope you love it like I love mine

Welcome to the world of Hybrid drivers !! I hope you enjoy your Hybrid.

Have you yet noticed that you are tending to modify your driving style a little bit to achieve higher MPG, or is that still in the future for you? Or do you plan on not changing at all?

Keep us posted on your likes and dislikes and MPG achievements !!

benb 01-27-2005 08:25 AM