Toyota Prepaid Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2008, 04:18 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Toyota Prepaid Maintenance

GeorgiaHybrid, what about TSBs for vehicles that are within their 36k warranty. Isn't the dealer the only one who's going to do the work on these? It just seems that while the vehicle is under warranty it makes sense to bring it to the dealer.

Old 12-27-2008, 08:27 PM
Super Moderator

Physicsdude,

Any warranty work or TSB’s that need to be done are fixed at the dealer. I do keep track of them as I have an ALLDATA subscription for each of my vehicles. I also talk to the tech that performs the work (and check behind him) to make sure everything is done correctly.

That might sound paranoid but when you consider the LAST time I trusted a dealers tech, the right front wheel came off my Olds Cutlass back in 1978 while running 55 or so on I-59. They tried to claim it was MY fault because that tech had never had a problem before. Yeh, right, he was 19…….

Ever since then the upkeep on my car is my responsibility. I keep up with it just as I do my personal safety. I don’t trust the police to be there when something happens and I don’t trust the dealers’ tech to not make a mistake.

Remember this:

You really aren’t paranoid if they ARE out to get you……

Old 12-28-2008, 07:27 AM
Enthusiast

Good points, I like your style. If I do it myself though I'd probably screw it up even more. So maybe the best approach for me would be to watch the work as they did it. Do they let you do that at the dealer? Also, do you think if I called them on the phone and asked that a master tech do the service they would comply (if I said I would take the car elsewhere otherwise)?

Old 12-28-2008, 09:21 AM
Super Moderator