XM/Sirius Install on '07 TCH

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2006, 02:17 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: XM/Sirius Install on '07 TCH

By the way, Hamer Toyota wanted $895 for satellite radio! I said no thanks.

Old 07-07-2006, 05:30 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Fredoulis
I'm a newbee but have been a XM subscriber for over 3 years. Toyota will be XM exclusive starting with the 2008 MY cars. I'm not sure if this has anything to do the Sirius fit kit issue?

I installed the XM tuner and fit kit in 3 and a half hours - working quite slowly to not accidentally damage my new car. There is a 15 page installation instructions from Toyota's accessory guide that the dealer will make a copy for you. It is clear and easy to follow and I'm by no means an expert at dismantling. I highly recommend getting a clip removal tool (I got mine for $9) to help remove panel and trim pieces. I purchased the XM tuner and fit kit from 1sttoyotaparts.com (they had to backorder) and received it in two weeks. Total cost was under $260 including FedEx ground shipping.
Where did you get the clip removal tool? (Would this be the "nylon removal tool" I have seen mentioned elsewhere?)

Is your antenna mounted above or below the rear package shelf/deck?

Thanks for the post!

Old 07-07-2006, 11:09 AM
Enthusiast
Talking Re: XM/Sirius Install on '07 TCH

I just installed a sirius kit seemingly made for a last generation Camry. I did some improvising.

I have the receiver (SiriusConnect) and wiring harness installed under the storage cubby, out of sight. The antenna is the Sigma model, inside of the windshield to the right of the rear view mirror.

I used a 10mm socket, a flathead screwdriver covered with tape for a "removal tool", and a phillipshead for removing the storage cubby.

Installation took all of one hour, and it sounds great! I would think anyone who has any experience whatsover should be able to do this, for I dont have much...

Old 07-07-2006, 11:04 PM
Enthusiast