Volt bc its range-extended
18.75%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Beyond Hybrid: Chevy Volt vs Nissan LEAF

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2009, 05:02 AM
Enthusiast
Default Beyond Hybrid: Chevy Volt vs Nissan LEAF

So I must admit I'm a little new to the whole green car scene, but I now do a lot of driving for my job and was about to purchase a Prius to commute until I saw the following article. I don't think that there will be enough electrical recharge stations in Phoenix in the near future for me to buy a Nissan LEAF because I often am required to do more than the 100 mile range, but I think the Volt might be a good option.
I read the comparison about the Volt and Leaf here, which made me lean towards the Volt for practicality reasons:

http://www.acceltimes.com/news/8/fea...issan-leaf.php

Just wanted to know what everyone thought about the Volt, do you think I'll run into problems in the 110 degree heat running on batteries alone (will the charge really last 40 miles or is that just while its new, like my laptop )

Would love your input and advice.
Thanks!

Old 08-21-2009, 05:58 AM
Automania Enthusiast
Default Re: Beyond Hybrid: Chevy Volt vs Nissan LEAF

Until the technology and batteries are proven (real world figures and experiences), like the millions of miles logged by the Prius's, I would take a wait and see approach.

Old 08-21-2009, 09:34 AM
Enthusiast

What's wrong with Tesla as a choice?

Old 08-26-2009, 03:10 PM
Enthusiast

From an emissions point of view, it depends where you live. Midwest, the Prius is better (because electricity is so dirty there). Everywhere else, go with the Volt or Leaf.

Old 08-26-2009, 04:26 PM
Super Moderator

The Volt is a really cool idea on paper. A Volt owner should pretty much be able to commute on electric and still have the petrol engine for backup and long trips. Great idea on paper.