Interior Size

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2005, 07:37 AM
Prius geek
Default Re: Interior Size

okay, so I'm still learning the emissions game here...the Civic Hybrid is cleaner in 4 or 5 states than the Prius (1 or 2). In the other 45 or 46 states the Prius is cleaner. And by how much in either case? Is it pretty significant between the tier 2 and tier 3 bin thing? Why can't Honda just put out a clean car for ALL states? Wouldn't it cost more to manufacture 2 different versions of the same clean car? Why the differing standards for an otherwise green car? Too many questions, I know, but I'm trying to formulate some understanding of the emissions thing...thanks.

Old 05-05-2005, 08:33 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Emissions ...

Hi Finman:

___Close … The PZEV equipped HCH and non-hybrid I4 based Accord are cleaner in terms of smog emissions in all states over and above the Prius II. The non-PZEV equipped HCH, AH, non-hybrid I4 and V6 Accord, and Insight all have much higher smog related emissions then the Prius II in every state. Only specific HCH’s, specific non-hybrid I4 equipped Accord’s, and the Civic GX (natural gas powered) are available as PZEV’s in the Honda lineup.

___Significance is a matter of your own wishes and desires. If the Prius II was rated as an SULEV like the just released RXh is today, would the Prius II owners still own it? Probably in almost every case. Why did someone like myself travel almost 1,000 miles to pick up a PZEV Accord when the LEV-II based Accord was available at my local Honda dealership not 2 miles away? I think you now know of my own requirements