Do other Honda head units fit an insight?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2007, 10:31 AM
Enthusiast
Default Do other Honda head units fit an insight?

I am helping my girlfriend upgrade the stereo in her Insight. She doesn't use tapes at all and would like to swap a Honda Civic CD player head unit in and take out the Honda tape player it came with. (She prefers the stock look and doesn't want to risk theft in San Francisco.)

Will the single CD stereo from a 2001-2005 Civic fit the insight without extensive modification? I have some experience with car audio installs and am hoping this is straightforward...especially hoping the Insight and Civic stereos use the same wiring harness.

Old 10-01-2007, 01:17 AM
Enthusiast deluxe
Default Re: Do other Honda head units fit an insight?

I am not sure... but one way I found to see what the back of a radio looks like (including the plugs/wires connections) is to search out the radio on E-Bay. Liely somebody is selling a radio from a 01-05 civic, and likely the ad will include pics of the backside. If the connectors look identicle... should work?
Spence

Old 12-30-2007, 12:24 PM
Enthusiast

If you're willing to do a little wiring, most aftermarket head units should fit just fine in the Insight. Just head to an electronics store like Best Buy and pick up a wiring harness adapter for the car and wire that to the harness that came with whichever new head unit you chose. Most car audio places should be able to do this installation for you if you want. I currently have a JVC Kameleon in my Insight which I installed over 2 years ago, its never had any issues and sounds great. My car originally came with the basic tape deck.