Engine vibrating

Old 12-26-2005, 01:32 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Engine vibrating

I have a 2001 Insight CVT and I'm getting a major vibration on the drivers side from the engine. The engine motor mounts are in perfect condition and the vibration gets worse in reverse. Does anyone have any idea what might be wrong ?

Old 12-26-2005, 02:33 PM
Default Re: Engine vibrating

where is the electric motor mounted? Does the vibration happen at idle or during driving?

Old 12-26-2005, 02:54 PM
Active Enthusiast

Ya it's on the electric motor side. I don't hear any other noises while I'm driving. When I come to a stop and the gas motor is running your can barely hear it, but you put the car in reverse the noise gets a lot worse.

Old 12-26-2005, 04:00 PM

I'd take it into the shop. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm thinking it has something to do with the motor and/or drive shaft in some way.

Old 12-26-2005, 05:00 PM
Banned

Wild guess: I might have experienced this in my more agressive driving days. I think it was when I floored (or close) it, the rpms were low, so the assist was maxing out.

Just realize you have a CVT - I have a 5-speed. Don't know if you can lug your engine.

Last edited by Delta Flyer; 12-26-2005 at 05:17 PM.
Old 12-26-2005, 07:05 PM
now Insight, had an HCH

You checked ALL the mounts very well? Did you try having someone put the car in reverse and hold the brake while giving gas at the same time? Same for forward as well. If the mounts had any wear the motor will move quite a bit.

How many miles on the car? Has your gas mileage dropped? Almost sounds like it could be a vacuum leak, I'd think that would trigger a code though.

Old 12-27-2005, 12:48 PM
Active Enthusiast