finally! my insight has arrived! a few questions from a new owner.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2006, 07:37 AM
Enthusiast
Default finally! my insight has arrived! a few questions from a new owner.

after almost 3 months of waiting, my new insight 5 speed has arrived. i'm still on my first tank of gas, so i am still learning how to get the best mileage possible.

by the way, i am impressed even with the mileage i'm getting in the break in period. after 150 miles (the needle on the gas gague finally moved one notch :-), i am getting 56 mpg and it's still climbing.

i do have some questions about the climate control. unfortunately, i had to take a model with AC, because that is what the dealer had on order. i can't figure out the controls. i've read the manual, but it's just not clear to me.

the manual says that if the AC is on, the autostop shuts off. however, when i turn even the heat on, the autostop shuts off. if i press the econ button, i get 2 modes, econ AC on and econ AC off. do i need to use econ mode even with the heater in order to keep the autostop on? does the heater lower gas mileage like the AC does?

also, for ventilation without AC, i like to just keep the recirculate off, turn the temp to the coldest, and open the vents or turn on the fan. i'm supposed to be able to do this with my car, but i haven't figured out how to do it without shutting off the autostop.

does anyone else have an insight 5 speed with AC? can you enlighten me as to how to control the heat without killing the mileage and autostop?

thanks in advance

traceyp

Old 05-25-2006, 07:43 AM
Banned
Default Re: finally! my insight has arrived! a few questions from a new owner.

First of all, avoid the large AUTO button - it allows the A/C to disable autostop.

The defrost activates the A/C to dry the air, so you might want to stop the fans just before stopping to allow autostop to work.