IMA Dying

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2007, 04:33 PM
Cold Commuter
Default IMA Dying

The IMA light on my 2000 went on, and the code came back as P1449 - battery deterioration. The car has only 61,000 miles, but the warranty was cancelled due to an accident over a year ago (front end stuff). I bought it used with a prior salvage title. It's been running fine for a year.
Anyway - the dealer is saying around $5000. That seems excessive. I'm looking for a salvage battery, but if there is none, I'm a pokey driver, and will go without the assist if I have to.

But - I see on several other threads that people have negotiated with Honda to pay at least something for out-of-warranty battery replacements. Who do you talk to? The service mgr at my local dealer is not interested in negotiating. (I don't think they see very many Insights - I had to tell the guy that the usual warranty was 80K.)

Old 03-13-2007, 06:12 PM
Banned
Default Re: IMA Dying

I'd attempt going over the dealer's head.

Old 03-13-2007, 10:18 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)

5k is definately not worth it. You already seem to know you can run without a traction battery if you own a Honda (unlike HSD based systems). You might be out of luck with Honda due to that whole accident/salvage business. Still it couldn't hurt to ask....

Old 03-14-2007, 04:13 AM
Active Enthusiast

eventually it may also stop charging the 12 volt battery. keep an eye out for that.

Old 03-14-2007, 08:13 PM
Enthusiast

I'm a new ower, but before buying my used 2001, I called HondaCare and they told me that the battery is under warranty until 2011 or 150K regardless of change of ownership. You might give corparate a ring and ask how to make a claim for a battery! Good luck, Robert

Old 03-14-2007, 10:46 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)

Robert I'm guessing you live in a "clean" state. There are a few states where hybrids have MUCH better warranties than the other "non-clean" states.

Do you live in: