Insight 2000 - Auto-Stop and various

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2007, 06:30 AM
Enthusiast
Default Insight 2000 - Auto-Stop and various

Hi, my name is Sue Jones and I am new to GreenHybrid. I am the proud owner of a 2000 Insight. I hope to gain more insight by joining these discussions!

In April I bought (from the estate of a friend) my Insight which had under 38,000 miles. The car had averaged 58.9 mpg over the life of the car with most of that driving in Western Pennsylvania. I live in Ithaca, NY at the top of the county, and my mileage around Ithaca averages 52+ mpg. On a trip from Ithaca to central OH, I got 66.1 mpg and on the return trip through Pgh and back to Ithaca, the round trip was 64.4. I am still learning how to drive the car, how much to use the Assist and how closely to rely on the indicator for shifting gears. I am now “giving more gas” to use the assist more than I did in the first few months and it seems that miles/gal are increasing. I was a bit scared about using too much Assist and the consequences of draining the battery.

Sometimes the Assist Battery is fully charged and then, rather unexpectedly, the amount of charge goes way down, under conditions that do not normally cause this to happen. Something I am doing? At other times the battery charges fully, faster than I would expect.

What happens when the charge becomes very low? I know that the auto-stop won’t work when the charge is low, but are there other things that would fail? Could I continue climbing a steep mountain as long as there is enough gas in the tank?