Why did you buy your hybrid?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2005, 12:01 PM
Enthusiast
Default Why did you buy your hybrid?

Hello. I'm curious to hear the reasoning behind your purchase of the Honda Insight or any other hybrid vehicle. Was it the better gas mileage? Concern for the environment? Both? Are you overall pleased with the performance? Do you feel you've sacrificed performance for better gas mileage? I'm a newbie (obviously) so I'm not certain if this topic's been beaten to death already. If so, I apologize in advance.

Old 06-06-2005, 12:12 PM
Default Re: Why did you buy your hybrid?

I got a HCH because it was a good car. Mileage was a Plus, but its just a nice car. It has better lower end accleration than a regular civic and only loses out at the high end. Plenty fast for me.

Old 06-06-2005, 01:48 PM
Active Enthusiast

My main reason for buying my HCH was the gas mileage and the possibility of passing this down to our 13 year old daughter some time later. I would have liked to have bought an Accord, but I think it would be easier for her to learn in a smaller car first. If we want her to drive a large car, she can drive the Odyssesy.

Billy

Last edited by billyt1963; 06-06-2005 at 06:15 PM. Reason: grammar corrections
Old 06-06-2005, 02:02 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)

No need to apologize, we love talking about our babies. For me saving gas is a big one with pollution second. The technology is really cool so the car is a bit of a toy you play the mileage game with. Depending on your point of view, hybrids are cool! The HCH goes as fast as it needs too. My family had a VW diesel years ago that got great mileage but it was underpowered to the point of being dangerous for sure. Not so with the hybrids, depending on just how much power you need. Except for the Accord they are not peppy. They are bad slow compaired to a Vette but so is most every other car on the road. I'm very happy with mine so far.

Old 06-06-2005, 02:06 PM