2007 HCH Leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2010, 05:47 PM
Owner
Question 2007 HCH Leak

Hi,

Sorry, this is a long post, but rich with detail to let you know as much as possible. Please read and let me know if you have a comment. I’m a mechanical engineer, but I don’t work in the automotive industry. I know what I’m doing while maintaining the car, but I’m not an expert on automobiles.

I bought a 2007 HCH at the end of Nov. 2007, brand new with ~150 miles. During my first year of ownership, the car wasn’t driven much, so the oil was changed at about one year because the owner’s manual says to change it at one year, regardless of what the Maintenance Minder says. (Refer to Note 1 to Maintenance Main Items on Page 185 of 2007 Owner’s Manual. Honda also says to not change the factory oil until the Maintenance Minder says to change it, but the dealer said to follow the one-year rule.) In Dec. 2008 with ~4,500 miles and 50% oil life, the car had its first oil change, and it was performed by a Honda dealership. The car was still new and hybrids are new technology, so I wanted Honda hands on it for the first oil change.

In Oct. 2009, I personally changed the oil on the car at ~11,750 miles (~7,250 since oil change) and 15% on oil life. (I used Honda 0W-20, new Honda oil filter, and new oil drain plug washer. I have my receipts. I used a torque wrench to tighten bolt. I’m not messing with my warranty. Maintenance Minder asked for and received B1 service.) Anyhow, I was distressed to see what appears to be oil leaking from somewhere between the engine, IMA, and/or CVT. Take a look at the attached pictures. The first picture is the best of the leak. It’s taken looking from driver to passenger side of the car. The second picture was taken looking up along the front side of the engine/IMA, which is to the left in the first picture. You’ll notice the orange plastic that is visible in both pictures.