Auto-start feature for Civic Hybrid - aftermarket.

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2005, 07:26 AM
2003 Civic Hybrid Owner
Question Auto-start feature for Civic Hybrid - aftermarket.

Hi all:

I recently looked into having an after-market, auto-start device installed onto my 2003 Civic Hybrid. Because it was a Hybrid, the after-market installer would not do the work, stating, "I have never done a Hybrid before. I don't know if a Hybrid can take it."

So, I contacted Honda Customer Service and they continued to give me their legal disclaimer, "We do not recommend changing anything fromthe show-room floor model." (Honda does not currently offer any model aith auto-start feature.) However, they did admit that the starting mecshnisms in the Hybrid Civic are the same of that in the gas version.

Have any of you had an auto-start device installed onto your Hybrid Civic? Please let me know your experience as I wish to have this device installed but need guidance.

Thanks in advance.

Old 11-07-2005, 08:20 AM
Default Re: Auto-start feature for Civic Hybrid - aftermarket.

Yes. I have an aftermarket autostart. I had it installed when I had my alarm installed. The dealer didn't mention any problems installing it. You will need an additional bypass module, but this is true for any car that has a chip in the key.

This will be my 4th winter with it. No problems at all.

Old 11-07-2005, 10:46 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Most dealerships will know of a local installer that'll do aftermarket alarms. Find out who they are, give them a call. They'll know what your car can take, as they install into Hondas (even hybrids) all the time.

Old 11-07-2005, 12:07 PM
Enthusiast

an aftermarket alarm with remote start can be added to the civics with no problem, the wiring is all the same as the standard civics. I just put an alarm in my hybrid, no problems at all.

Old 11-07-2005, 12:16 PM
2003 Civic Hybrid Owner

Thank you, Tom.