Talking Maintenance on HCH

Tell me if you agree or disagree...

Every 10k for oil change

Every 10k for oil filter change

Every 10k rotate and balance tires

Every 20k for air filter

Every 30k for cvt fluid change

Every 30k for cabin filter

What am I missing? I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff, I just want to make sure my car lasts forever.

Old 05-20-2005, 10:03 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Maintenance on HCH

Hi Big,

One of the longest debated subjects on most automobile forums! But let's do it.

I would follow the factory recommendations for the oil/filter, within a few hundred miles or so.

It sounds like you are stretching the oil change/filter. For any type of driving condition.

I use 3750 miles for the initial oil/filter change, then go to 5000 miles after that. Some people will say synthetic oil can go longer, I sleep better on a 5k schedule.

Tires - If they are wearing even, I don't do anything.

Regards,

Old 05-20-2005, 10:24 AM
Enthusiast

Being a brand spankin new owner, I find myself wondering about how much additional wear and tear, from an oil perspective, the auto-stop/start feature is introducing. The conventional wisdom in some circles is that stop/go driving increases the frequency of oil changes required. Wouldn't this feature make the doubly true?

-O

Old 05-20-2005, 11:09 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Orbity
Being a brand spankin new owner, I find myself wondering about how much additional wear and tear, from an oil perspective, the auto-stop/start feature is introducing. The conventional wisdom in some circles is that stop/go driving increases the frequency of oil changes required. Wouldn't this feature make the doubly true?-O