New 2008 HCH - a noob gets 61.2mpg!

Old 07-10-2008, 07:22 PM
Enthusiast
Default New 2008 HCH - a noob gets 61.2mpg!

I just wanted to drop a line and thank everyone here for posting and sharing your experience with others. I have been commuting 60 miles round trip for 8 years. Feeling the pinch of almost $100 a week for gas (F-150 supercrew) I bought a civic hybrid. While waiting for it to arrive, I read messages on a few forums and felt hopeful that I would achieve EPA estimates of 45mpg hwy. I drove round trip today for an average of 61.2 mpg! I am still working on my dealership tank and am improving daily. This wouldn't have been possible without the help I received here. Thank you very much!

PS. Tarabell's article put it all in place for me. A special thanks is needed and to xcel for the editing.

Old 07-10-2008, 07:31 PM
Energy Independence
Default Re: New 2008 HCH - a noob gets 61.2mpg!

Welcome!

It's a great feeling, isn't it? It can be addictive, so get ready for it.

Old 07-10-2008, 07:35 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Congratulations! If you're doing that well already, I can't wait to see how well you do with a little more break in!

Old 07-11-2008, 03:57 AM
HypoFueler

James - way to go!

Even if you floor the HCH2 and get it up to ~108mph, I think it may still give you better FE than your truck

Old 07-11-2008, 06:14 AM
Excited to have it!

James,
Yes, I agree wholeheartedly about this forum. It is extremely helpful, especially for those that have been waiting on our HCH to arrive from Japan for nearly 2 months!

I took delivery of mine last night (AAA brings it to the house) and the guy asked if I had any questions and I didn't. I already know everything he could tell me, mostly because of this forum. For that, I say, "Thank you to all who post!" I, for one, appreciate it!