No more Honda hybrids!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2015, 06:59 AM
Enthusiast
Default No more Honda hybrids!!!

Well after 8 months of Civic Hybrid ownership and about 11,000 miles I'm officially done with it.

Let me first say that I am a VERY experienced mechanic and engine builder so I'm no dope when it comes to cars. I was also a motor carrier for 5 years and drive a diesel pickup so I pretty much know about diesels too.

For those thinking about buying one of these cars they're a great car if you're not planning on driving it 70-75 with the A/C/ on, but if you live in a state with a big speed limit and don't want to get run over DON'T BUY A CIVIC HYBRID!!!!

The car gets killer mileage (my best was a 52 mile trip to Rockford, Ill. at 60 mph with the air off when I got an awesome 52 mpg using Gumout carb and injector cleaner as a fuel additive.................but take it Texas in 93 degree heat and run it at 75 with the a/c on and WOW what a difference! The car's mileage dropped to 27 mpg and it felt like someone tossed a 3 foot parachute out the window every time I turned on the a/c!!!!!

With a measly 85 hp and a 13 hp hybrid motor the car just does not have enough horsepower to get "hybrid" quality mileage at those high speeds, WITH the air on.

The answer? I'm going to buy either a VW TDI Jetta, or Passat. With their turbo-diesel engine I can boost the horsepower simply by tweaking the turbo and/or injection pump, but even if I don't the car will AVERAGE over 40 mpgs.

That said, the Civic hybrid is an awesome CITY car, but all mileage claims go out the door if you plan on running it hard with the a/c on. I'll leave these Civic hybrids to those who live in town and don't have to drive at freeway speeds when it's hotter than you-know-what outside!!!! But I bought mine to run over the road and buy diesel pickups (using a towbar to get the Honda home) and it's just not suited for that type of driving if you don't want to cook inside of it!!.