Rear speaker removal

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2004, 06:00 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

I was considering upgrading the 2 rear deck speakers.

I've noticed they are screwed/bolted from the top and can not be removed from underneath in the trunk area.

On the top side, it looks like the entire plastic rear deck cover may have to be removed for acces to the speakers.

Any time saving tips:
How is this top cover fastened?
Is it a difficult job given the seatbelts are routed through?
These are 6 inch speakers. Any suggestion for replacements? I'll be using the stock head.

Old 08-04-2004, 06:47 PM

Steve,
I had to remove the deck cover, 3rd brake light, and the child seatbelt to get to mine, its not really that hard, just look for little clips (most cars are put together simmilar). Give yourself atleast two hours...if you need help...i'm always around.
Cheers,
Steven

Old 03-10-2005, 10:47 AM
Enthusiast

Greetings,

I've had some good experiences getting auto audio components from Crutchfield. They are a catalog and online supplier. They will often advise you on which components are best for a given car, and supply detailed instructions for that particular installation.

Old 03-10-2005, 02:50 PM
Active Enthusiast

I got a radio for my old car and then changed it to the HCH when I got it. The instructions that Crutchfield sent are good and if you get the speakers from there they should include them. Their instructions make it seem like you are taking the back of the car apart.

Billy

Old 03-26-2005, 07:20 AM
Keepin it hyper yo

You are taking the back of the car apart. . . but its easy. Just be careful of the defroster mounts.
I installed component Infinity reference speakers in the front (door for the mids and sails for the tweets) and rear (OEM mount for the mids and deck for the tweets). + sub, x-overs, amp, etc. I still am waiting on upgrading the head unit until there is a good iPod integration solution (I'm not a fan of Alpine's current offering)