Test Drive Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2006, 05:57 AM
Enthusiast
Default Test Drive Question

My HCH-II is "supposed" to be here in about 10 days. Any advice on the test drive? Things to try, things to look for, etc.

All of the negotiation is complete - I just want to have a thorough "hybridized" test drive.

I've never driven a hybrid before, but I've been practicing my "hypermiling techniques on my car for about 10 months. I get 28 to 29 mpg overall on every tank on a car rated 21 city /28 hwy.

Thanks.

Old 04-20-2006, 06:27 AM
Proud owner HCHII
Default Re: Test Drive Question

Even if you cannot test drive an HCH II you might be able to test drive a CVT HCH I which is very similar. Nothing special to look out for - just lie back and enjoy it. Before your own delivery, ask the dealer to drive you round the block (which he is required to do by Honda) - watch and listen. The cars are beautifully prepared and finished. Your dealer will not hand it over if it is not perfect. If you go to https://techinfo.honda.com/rjanisis/logon.asp you can read a copy of your manual - miss out all the stuff about baby seats etc. but concentrate on how to drive. No need at this time either to read about maintenance or bulb replacement.
Hope that helps. Do not let the dealer show off the rev range on your car keep the revs down to less than 2000 for the break-in period of 625 miles.

Old 04-20-2006, 08:46 AM
Tim
Enchanter, Enthusiast