What the Heck!

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2007, 06:38 PM
Enthusiast
Default What the Heck!

Hello All. Newbie here. I just got a 2007 HCH and for my first two tanks I've been only getting 31.2 mpg. The fan is off.

This sucks. My corolla was getting better gas mileage...

Old 02-02-2007, 09:26 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: What the Heck!

Patience, grasshopper.

Where do you live? What is the temperature? What kind of driving do you do? How many miles are on your car so far?

Old 02-03-2007, 12:53 AM
Enthusiast

I live in sunny southern California. The temerpature has been in the 40s to the mid-70s. Mostly City driving to work and then to check on my grandpa, then back home.

I have about 650 miles so far...

Is it because the car is new?

Old 02-03-2007, 06:13 AM
Active Enthusiast

Your car being new is a definite factor. My wife and I probably averaged in the mid 30s when we first got our car. There is also a period during which you must learn how to drive the car. Do some forum searches on driving tips and hypermiling. You'll soon be swamped with tips on how to get better mileage. Employ as many as you wish, and you'll soon be seeing a difference in your mpg. Good luck!

Old 02-03-2007, 08:29 AM
EKL
Active Enthusiast

I got my 2006 HCH in Mar 06, in the beginning my wife only drives in the city and the MPG is in the low 30s. Now 17K miles later, with the car pool stickers driving city/freeway the best MPG is about 38. We're not 100% happy with the MPG but more than 110% happy with the car pool sticker!!! If California do not have this HOV stickers program for Hybrid, I would never buy hybrid just for gas milesage.

Last edited by EKL; 02-03-2007 at 08:32 AM.
Old 02-03-2007, 09:38 AM