Why does Engine Restart when put in Park?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2007, 10:06 PM
Enthusiast
Default Why does Engine Restart when put in Park?

When I pull into a parking space or drive into my garage to park, AS kicks in as I would expect. However, when I place the car in Park, the engine restarts. Now when I park, I turn off the ignition and then put the car in Park. 1) is that bad for the transmission? 2) my door locks have to be manually unlocked as a result. Thoughts? Advice?

I'm a 10-day newbie and have spent way too much time on this forum in the last two days!

Old 12-03-2007, 11:09 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Why does Engine Restart when put in Park?

I was wondering why it does it as well.

I know the auto stop Auto. comes back on when you release the break, but I don't think it should if you shift the gears, and the book says it does.

Whay I have been doing when I park, is if it does go into auto stop, I turn off the car before I put it into park.

Now my question, is what I am doing bad or wrong?

Old 12-04-2007, 05:24 AM
Active Enthusiast

I always turn the car off before putting it in park too.

Turning the engine on in park makes no sense to me at all. I can't imagine why Honda designed it that way.

Old 12-04-2007, 05:49 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

I would follow the Owner's Manual's instructions for parking. Even if we don't understand the reasons why the engine restarts, that doesn't meant that there are none. Although these cars are designed to be idiot-proof, that isn't a license to subvert its mechanisms. Would you and can you park this way with an ordinary car? Perhaps so, but try and explain that to law enforcement or in claiming a warranty if it is the cause for some misfortune.

Old 12-04-2007, 06:58 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

There is an extensive thread on this very subject.

Try the search feature.

Many folks here, including myslef, turn the car off when autostoped in D before putting the car in P.