Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Affect of running the A/C (in Florida!) on a Hybrid

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2008, 12:47 PM
Enthusiast
Default Affect of running the A/C (in Florida!) on a Hybrid

I have been going back and forth on whether to get a hybrid small SUV like either the Ford Escape or Mercury Mariner. I can't make up my mind.

I live in Tampa, and as my name suggests, I am a Realtor and we run the A/C (on high during June, July and August!) a lot so my concern is am I going to lose a lot of the fuel economy by doing so, and might I be better off with a regular non-hybrid car? Also when I priced the Escape they were getting MSRP for the one I wanted, a 2WD with all the options, which was about $30K. In my mind, I am going, I could get a luxury car for $30K, that seems a bit crazy for an Escape to me.

I currently drive a Jeep Liberty that's only getting about 18-20 mpg and has 80K miles on it and am almost ready for something new. With the rising price of gas, who knows how high it will get, I am wondering if a hybrid is the way to go or if I should get something like the BWM 3 series (which my husband owns and gets about 28-32 mpg in that but it requires premium fuel so that's about 30 cents higher a gallon, right?). Do the hybrid SUV's take regular fuel? I also drive about 20K miles a year taking my clients all over town, mostly stop and go. I need a formula to figure out what's the best way to go here, cost wise, between a hybrid SUV and a passenger car like the Beamer. I'm not a snob about what car I own, but I do want something that looks nice and is comfortable for my clients. Help me decide!