Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Database Question - Which MPG?

  #11  
Old 05-04-2004, 02:03 PM
jinno's Avatar
Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Florence, Colorado
Posts: 38
Default

Jason,



Okay, hopefully everyone understood what
I REALLY meant in my last 2 posts.

:blink:

jinno
 
  #12  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:06 AM
ericbecky's Avatar
Contributor ($)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,381
Default

jinno,
Got it!

I have been posting what the dash readout says. Not the calulated. when I get a chance I'll update my info so people know that.
 
  #13  
Old 05-08-2004, 04:10 PM
BIF
BIF is offline
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks, folks!

For now, I think I will use my manually-calculated MPG. My reasoning:

1. I live in Florida, so I believe my math will be less affected by the well-known "shrinking bladder" effect that the Prius has in cold weather.

2. All I have to do is forget to reset my trip computer one time, and "bonk"...there goes my accuracy. But I always write my ODO down in my book whenever I fill up. Strange how I can remember to write my info, but forget to press a button!

3. I will note my MFD (yes, "computer screen") value whenever available, but won't use that in the database.

4. If I decide to change my mind in the future, I'll make a note of it.

Thanks again, for all your great input!
 
  #14  
Old 05-08-2004, 04:22 PM
Site Founder
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,623
Default

So you know, the car resets itself when you fill up. No danger of forgetting
 
  #15  
Old 05-08-2004, 04:42 PM
BIF
BIF is offline
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 85
Default

Originally posted by Jason@May 8th 2004 @ 7:22 PM
So you know, the car resets itself when you fill up. No danger of forgetting
Hi, Jason:

My car didn't reset itself when I filled up last Sunday. I checked it before driving off, and hit "reset" when I noticed that the Consumption screen still had the old info on it.

Is it possible that it resets when you go into "drive" after a fillup? 'Cause I didn't do that, I was still in "park."
 
  #16  
Old 05-08-2004, 04:48 PM
Site Founder
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,623
Default

The car has to slowly re-register. If you watch the gas gauge, it slowly goes up one bar at a time. A few seconds after it reaches the top, it should reset the screen. I'll assume that it's most accurate to reset it manually instead because between the time you fill up and it resets it's possible that your tank's mileage may waver by a tenth or so.

Also, there have been some accounts of it not resetting at all. This likely is due to not filling the tank all the way.
 
  #17  
Old 05-08-2004, 05:51 PM
BIF
BIF is offline
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 85
Default

Okay, Jason...I'll keep these things in mind. At the rate I'm going this week, I'll probably fill up sometime on Tuesday or Wednesday. I'll pay attention to it then.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Topic Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
2008 Honda CIvic Hybrid
Honda Civic Hybrid
13
03-01-2008 09:16 AM
schmidtj
Toyota Camry Hybrid
19
01-08-2008 07:18 PM
ShellyD
Website Questions & Input
0
10-20-2006 03:53 PM
spiff72
Toyota Camry Hybrid
5
07-17-2006 02:43 PM
kenny
Fuel Economy & Emissions
4
02-16-2005 11:12 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Database Question - Which MPG?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.