Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   Fuel Economy & Emissions (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/fuel-economy-emissions-22/)
-   -   Hi/Low fuel mileage (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/fuel-economy-emissions-22/hi-low-fuel-mileage-14941/)

ED 1934 08-17-2007 11:07 AM

Hi/Low fuel mileage

Gentlemen, I'm brand new to the forium and I have two Priuses and while going through all these statements I have read about fuel mileage, I have a few questions.
1.Is the fuel mileage based on a full tank?
2. Is the fuel mileage based on hypermiling for a mile or so, such as 80 MGP during that time and mileage?
I'm doing my darnest to keep my hwy mileage above 53 over a 40 mile round trip in my 05, my wife won't let me drive her 07, she says I will mess her seat, mirror and radio adjustments.
Last night I reset them all!
Ed

bwilson4web 08-17-2007 12:42 PM

Re: Hi/Low fuel mileage

Originally Posted by ED 1934 (Post 139450)
Gentlemen, I'm brand new to the forium and I have two Priuses and while going through all these statements I have read about fuel mileage, I have a few questions.

Welcome to the club! (BTW, we have most excellent lady experts too.)

1.Is the fuel mileage based on a full tank?

No as long as the method gives reasonably accurate numbers. Click on my Prius signature block and you'll see that until recently, I was doing two fill-ups per week. This let me keep my commuting mileage separate from my weekend mileage and fairly quickly identify what works and doesn't work.

2. Is the fuel mileage based on hypermiling for a mile or so, such as 80 MGP during that time and mileage?

Using shorter intervals requires attention to detail to make sure the car is in the same state before each run. I've got a Graham miniscanner and know how to 'normalize' the car. It can be done but it takes attention to detail and you really need to make multiple runs to make sure the results are reproducible.